Week 12…done!

This week hasn’t been my best. There’s been moments when I was ready to give up, moments where I found myself pondering. Pondering just as Paul did 47 years ago. Him worried about breaking the hearts of millions of girls across the world, me worried that it’s been a really, really long time since I ate Monster Munch, totally comparable. ‘It’s been a hard day’s night and I been working like a dog’ in the bloomin gym. 9 sessions across 7 days, no rest. Rest day comes tomorrow!

Monday – Insanity
Tuesday – P90X
Wednesday AM – Gym
Wednesday PM – PT
Thursday AM – Gym
Friday AM – Gym
Friday PM – PT
Saturday – Gym
Sunday – Gym

When I say it wasn’t my best, I didn’t cheat, I didn’t hit up my husbands mini egg stash, I stuck rigidly to the diet, I just wasn’t feeling it. That happens! The week can be summed up in the squat I attempted to do with the weights bar before ending up on my ass. That and this delightfully cheerful drawing by my little cousin:

IMG_7443

Don’t worry, he’s quite normal….normally! It just perfectly sums my week. Life isn’t always motivational quotes and fist bumps. Sometimes it’s stepping on the fat step and staying the same weight, sometimes it’s wearing jazzy leggings twice to the gym before washing because although it’s dirty, your fed up of washing ALOT of gym clothes and sometimes it’s falling on your ass in the street while attempting a squat. But then it can be the smallest thing that turns your week around. For me it wasn’t the smallest thing, it was my biggest face that brought it back. The below photo came up of my from 8 years ago!

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 23.37.59.png

8 years ago, exercise was walking to Tesco and back for snacks. Now, ridiculously, I feel guilty when I miss an AM session on the sweaty stepper! I’ve changed. I won’t lie, I’m fully aware I’m a preachy knob these days but I honestly can’t say this enough, if I can do it, anyone can! My normal state these days is sore, then some days I find myself to be less sore, or worse, more sore, but there’s something very satisfying about sore!

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 23.58.12.png

So unlike Paul, because I guess we differ in some ways, I’m going to stick at it. 47 years ago he did break all the hearts, but I won’t break the shred! I can’t believe I’m saying this but there is now only 15 days left! Just over two weeks to go. And with a week of shred minefields ahead, I need to remain vigilant. Before I started the shred I outlined 3 days I was taking off….because you gots to live, and tomorrow is one of them. My cousins wedding and it would be rude not to. Then Thursday to Saturday a wee trip to London where I plan to use one (or maybe 2) of my 3 remaining treats. but that’s ok….I’ll hard core it as soon as I’m back!

“Blackbird singing in the dead of night, take these broken wings and learn to fly. All your life, you were only waiting for this moment to arise.” – The Beatles, Blackbird

 

Leave a Reply

