Tall, handsome and…an ex chef!

As you may have gathered, much of my life revolves around food…I love it! So it probably wouldn’t surprise you to know that the moment I knew Mr M aka Shred Hubby was a keeper, was the first time he cooked for me. He lived in a horrible, dirty flat. I knew he used to be a chef but didn’t really expect much when he invited me round. Even less when I saw him produce a tin, yes a tin, of potatoes.* Sacrilege! Don’t cage my favourite vegetable like that! But, what followed was the most divine Beef Stroganoff…still my favourite meal of his 6 years on. The moment I knew marriage was on the cards was when he was late to meet me in town because he was cooking a ham…he’s an usual sort, but he’s a keeper!

c8a616c092409d7e1db3cd6fa073c422

Don’t worry, I’m not going all soppy on you. This is actually an educational/advice based post for you single readers out there. Heck, even those of you that are attached, down tools and listen up! When listing out the attributes you are looking for in a partner, forget looks, forget money, forget everything you thought you needed, what you really need…an ex chef! Not a current chef, too many long hours and the cost of keep those chef whites white, no thank you! But an ex chef, there you will find a man who’ll spend hours in the kitchen on a Sunday making the perfect roast, or off to the supermarket on a Saturday for the makings of Coq au vin. You know how they say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, well call me a man and cook me a steak bitch!

IMG_7462.jpgHe did just that!

Six years ago today I almost didn’t go to his leaving do at work. I fancied a quiet night in and going to the pub with a bunch of people I didn’t know, did not appeal, but my Uncle told me to buck up and go out! When he left me alone in the pub to eat a sandwich, most girls would have left, not me, that’s what reeled me in!

I started drinking more as we went on dates, he wined and dined me like a treat! Surprising me with dinner at The Honours to celebrate finishing my masters, random Friday lunches at Mal Maison, after work drinks, the calories started to add up and I gained almost 2 stone in our first year together. In the years previous, I had been an on/off Weight Watchers member. So I went back to that to lose the weight. He hated it! Try asking a chef to cook with one cal spray and low fat everything, then you’ll see a broken man. When I started the Pig to Twig diet (slightly different to Paleo that I do now), he loved it! Screw the one cal spray, cook with oil and butter, throw in some double cream while you’re at it. I lost 2 stone in 3 months and we still managed to go out for steak dinners.

IMG_6951.jpg

Now, I don’t know how I’d stay on track without a husband that loves to cook. He finds amazing recipes that fit with my diet. And I don’t even want to strangle him when he has a nice soft tiger baguette with his, or orders dulce de leche churros while I have a peppermint tea. I save the desire to strangle for when he comes home with mini eggs or leaves his wet towel on my side of the bed.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 20.28.07.png

I suppose what I am trying to say is getting healthy and losing weight is hard. It’s harder if the people around you aren’t onboard. Yes he hated using one cal spray, but he did it. My 70 day shred, or this 100 day shred were about losing weight for me, not for him. But even Mr M. knows that when I lose wight, I feel better, have more confidence and that’s why he lets me pick restaurants that have low carb options, or why he didn’t suggest we get a Dominos for dinner tonight (we used to eat a lot of Dominos). He’s on board, and he’s awesome. Make sure you have an awesome team around you. Not just your ball and chain, but your friends, your family. This afternoon I couldn’t be bothered going to the gym but I went. I went because my Auntie came too. I know full well at 5.30pm tomorrow night I’ll want to leave work and go sit on my sofa, but I won’t. I’ll go to Insanity with my sister, that and Shred Master Sarah would kick my ass if I told her I couldn’t be bothered. But that’s what I need. People around me who keep me focused. Get your shred squad in order and get yourself armed for awesomeness!

“It doesn’t matter who you are or what you look like, as long as somebody loves you.”
– Roald Dahl

*He justified the tin by pointing out that he’d spent a lot of time as a chef peeling millions of potatoes, he’s over that!

Leave a Reply

