Week 2…done!

Serena Williams might have won 23 grand slam titles. She might be the greatest female athlete we’ve ever seen. She might have slightly bigger guns than me, but even she struggles to get out of bed sometimes. ‘To be perfectly honest with you, I don’t want to be here. I just want to be in bed right now.’ This is exactly how I felt yesterday morning when my alarm went off for my personal training session….even more so when I saw the rain outside. But I put on my big girl pants and got it done!

We found a last minute indoor space and when we asked Shred Master Sarah if we could help carry equipment inside, she replied ‘nope, we don’t need any.’ My first thoughts were, SCORE! I was VERY wrong! What followed was 50 minutes of absolute hell! The workout was as follows:

Round 1: 60 squats each, 60 burpees collectively, sumo squat holds in between
Round 2: 50 push ups each, 50 burpees collectively, sumo squat holds in between
Round 3: 40 lunges each, 40 burpees collectively, sumo squat holds in between
Round 4: 30 tricep dips each, 30 burpees collectively, sumo squat holds in between
Round 5: 20 V-ups, 20 burpees collectively, sumo squat holds in between
Round 6: 10 burpees each, 10 burpees collectively, sumo squat holds in between

I know what you’re thinking, that’s a f*%k load of burpees! Sufficed to say, today I am broken. Just typing this is causing me to hate life (and Shred Master Sarah a wee bit). But it’s a satisfying pain, a pain that reminds me I kicked ass. A pain that reminds me I’m working hard. You can’t moan about being overweight if you’re not doing anything about. No one else is going to get me to my prime of lime. Yes it’s hard, yes there will be times you want to give up and yes you are going to make some ugly faces while you do it.

img_6622

This might possibly one of the ugliest pictures I’ve ever seen of myself, but that double chin just means I pushed myself! There’s no point taking a half arsed approach to exercise. If you’re going to do it, do it properly! You don’t need a full face of make up, don’t worry about how you’re looking just right. Those Nike guys were on to something when they said ‘just do it’.

tumblr_inline_niwr87EaL61qeika0.jpg

 

So after two weeks of just doing it and following the shred rules, I was pretty chuffed to find I had lost another 2lbs. That’s 8lbs in total now, in just 2 weeks…whoop whoop! I feel so much healthier already, I can only assume by day 100 I’ll be as chiselled and fit as Serena herself.

“You just have to prove to yourself that you can go out there and be the best that you can be and not prove anything to anyone.” – Serena Williams

Leave a Reply

