Day 68: The Exit Strategy

I know what you’re thinking…Friday is weigh in day. With Sunday being the last day, I decided to move to one final weigh in on Sunday, when I will also do my measurements and take my ‘after’ photos. Shred buddy lost 1lb though….go SB!

The count down really is on…just 2 days of the shred left! I actually can’t believe it has been 10 weeks already. So with the end in sight it’s time to plan the exit strategy. How do I wean off the shred without undoing all my good work. Firstly, be more like Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson!

I like to think that the shred has given me my edge, the willpower and motivation that seems to have come from nowhere. That can be my anchor. And hopefully that anchor will keep me on track come day 71! Really the shred doesn’t end. Whilst these 70 days might be over, the challenge is complete and I won’t be writing the blog anymore, I plan to carry on. The next challenge is probably the hardest.

My plan for next week is that I will still prep all my meals, I will still fast during the week where possible and I will still spend too many nights a week sweating and kicking ass at Beach Fit bootcamp classes. The blog has been amazing at keeping me on track. On numerous occasions I have hovered over the Monster Munch in Sainsbury’s but every time I talked myself out of it because I would have to report back failure on the blog. I won’t have that accountability.

49960217.jpg

But what is going to drive me on Monday is how hard I’ve worked, how much I’ve sweat over 70 days, how much healthier I have felt, how much more confident I feel in my clothes and how freakin proud I am of myself…no point ruining that now!

So here is the exit strategy:

  1. Keep drinking to a minimal, where possible no drinking through the week
  2. Continue to attend 3 exercise classes a week
  3. Prep and bulk cook for each week
  4. Keep diet Irn Bru at a minimal
  5. Paleo Paleo Paleo
  6. I am going to keep up the weigh ins and measurements
  7. Keep cheats to a minimal

It’s not rocket science, it is just good sense and healthy living. The shred will always be in mind, plus with lots of people reading about the shred, it would be awkward in a week, two weeks time for someone to catch my stuffing my face with Monster Munch and chips and Macaroni. The fact the shred was public was a good thing. It means that even post shred…I’m accountable…long live the shred!


Day 68: Shred Log

IMG_2295.jpg

Breakfast – Banana Nut Porridge

Completely forgot I had put this in the microwave and it came out like a volcano and hotter than the sun. So be careful! I added grapes and stirred A LOT to cool it down!

Lunch – Butter chicken & cauli rice

I took this one out of the freezer. It was the delicious curry that I made a few weeks ago. I heated up and had it with plain cauli rice.

Dinner – Bolognese & sweet baked potato

As I forgot to plan for today, this was also out of the freezer. This is why you need back ups in the freezer. Last night I baked a sweet potato in the oven and just reheated it today. A very tasty and very filling dinner, even if it was a weird combo!

Drinks & snacks – About 3 litres of water

Exercise – Rest day


Today’s top tip – Don’t ask your sister for a sniff of her double decker…it’ll just make you sad!

Leave a Reply

