Day 57: The Fast and the…fabulous!

Just like those dangerous rascals Dom and Brian I am starting week 9 firing on all cylinders. Other similarities: I love how a black tank top shows off my guns! I can’t believe I am saying it’s only bloody week 9!!! Just two weeks left to go and there is a light at the end of the tunnel. On Friday I was feeling a little down about this weeks results and it got me thinking about my final two weeks of the shred. Naturally I went to my life guru PT Sarah and asked her how I could crank it up a notch for the final two weeks. To my my horror, her response was no booze, no diet Irn Bru and NO SAUSAGES! I know, I took the sausage comment hard too.

57208133.jpg

However, she also suggested I try something new, and as I’ve mentioned before, I’ll try anything! Intermittent fasting. Fasting has become quite popular as a diet these days, however the thought of having periods of not eating is something that does not sit well with me. But as I am keen to crank it up, and there’s no point doing a challenge without it being hard…so I’ll give it a shot!

Fasting is less about what you eat, but when. Cavemen didn’t sit down and eat 3 square meals, morning, afternoon and evening. They ate when they were hungry and when they could get their hands on food. It’s actually a more natural way of eating than my normal 10am, 2pm and 8pm routine. It is about a pattern of eating rather than a ‘diet’.

There are a number of different approaches to fasting. The only one I knew of was the 5:2, where you eat less than 500 calories 2 days a week and the other 5 you can basically eat whatever you want (within reason) on the other 5 days. However, I am giving the 16/8 method a try. This means you fast for 16 hours a day and eat within a 8 hour period. My plan, as advised by someone in the know, is to still eat my 3 meals a day, but only between 9am and 5pm. Then as of 5pm I fast for 16 hours, thankfully most of this will be sleep!

IMG_2029.jpg
In preparation for the fasting I prepped like an absolute boss yesterday!

So my day 1 experience was interesting. I ate breakfast as soon as I got into work at 9am. I then ate lunch at 12.30 even though I wasn’t remotely hungry. Then came 4.30 and I knew I needed to eat dinner before 5pm but I had to force it down. My jeans became significantly tighter! It is amazingly hard to squeeze 3 meals into 8 hours!

Another key element is that you exercise within the fasting window. This works out perfectly for me as I can eat my dinner at work about 4.30-5pm and then my classes all start between 6-6.30pm. One of the benefits of this is that I got home from Insanity, had a shower and am now writing this from my bed. Not cooking my dinner has freed me right up! Plus my husband is away through the week, so I won’t have to endure any torture watching him eat his dinner when I get home.

8f36c3d0c5feba307a231534941e28c4

I am going to try this for the last 10 week days (because I think it will be too hard at the weekend, but we’ll see). I don’t want to speak too soon but so far so good….ask me again on Friday!


Day 57: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 21.31.37.png

Breakfast – Banana Nut Porridge with raspberries

Old faithful filled me right up this morning. Heated through with raspberries for added sweetness.

Lunch – Meatballs and broccoli

I blitzed up bacon, shallots and garlic in the food processor and mixed with some Muscle Food beef mince and seasoning. Made up lots of lovely meatballs and cooked with chopped tomatoes and a bit of tomato puree. Broccoli was pre boiled and home and mincrowaved at work.

Dinner – Devil’s Curry and Cauli Rice

I saw one of these quick video recipes on Facebook and adjusted it to be Paleo friendly. Basically I put chillis, shallots, ginger, lemongrass, turmeric, olive oil, water and garlic into the Nutribullet and blasted it up. Then fried up some mustard seeds in coconut oil and then added the Nutri mix. Then add diced chicken. I swapped the potatoes for butternut squash and then added stock and cooked for 20 mins. I then added spinach because I had loads in the fridge. It was really tasty and I had it with half a portion of Cauli Rice.

Drinks & snacks – 3 litres of water and a peppermint tea

Exercise – 50 minutes of Insanity…it’s good to be back!


Today’s top tip – Putting some sort of fruit in your water means you get the flavour without being able to eat it in the evening.

Leave a Reply

