Day 53: Throwback Thursday

Poor PT Sarah has done her back in, which means all classes are cancelled for the week, except Monday’s Insanity where she looked like she may vom from the pain. Here she is looking all sad:

57124783

Old Bex would have celebrated dragging myself to the gym once a week with some food, but now I get the guilts! Whilst I have thoroughly enjoyed 2 nights off, I knew I needed to do something this evening, just not anything too strenuous. I opted for a retro Gillian Michael’s 30 day shred DVD. Procrastinated for a while setting up my station though….obvs.

IMG_1955.jpg

At the beginning of 2013 I decided to try and commit to some sort of regular exercise. Shred buddy recommend Gillian Michael’s 30 day shred. It’s a very simple, at home exercise and you don’t even need to buy weights for it. I progressed from chopped tomatoes, to cans of fosters, to bottles of wine. You have to commit to doing it every day for 30 days, but it is only 30 minutes including the warm up and cool down.

tumblr_n5zsmdKZDZ1r6ickfo1_500.png

When I started level 1, it ruined me. Level 2 was harder and level 3 was an absolute killer. I never even made it to Natalie level (Natalie did the full range options, whilst my friend Anita did the low range). But I did it. I made it to day 30 and built up a below average fitness, enough to help me progress to bootcamp. Tonight I thought I would revisit the shred after 3 years and went straight in at level 3. Whilst I did break a sweat, I was most definitely not dying in the corner of the room afterwards like I used to and it made me realise how good/horrible Insanity is.

If you are looking to start getting fit but don’t feel ready to go to a class, or go do it in public. Then Gillian is your woman, she’s a real sweetheart…

200_s


Day 53: Shred Log

IMG_1964

Breakfast – Chipolatas and avocado

I had some of these leftover from Sunday so I had them with half a mashed up avocado.

Lunch – Chilli and avocado

Totally forgot to take something out of the freezer last night so I grabbed some chilli from the freezer this morning and just hoped for the best that it would defrost in time. I had it with the other half of that avocado from this morning.

Dinner – Butter chicken and cauli rice

Another portion of last night’s butter chicken but tonight I had it with the Mediterranean cauli rice. A slightly odd combo but tasty all the same!

Drinks & snacks – Approx 2 litres of water and a glass of sparkling water with lemon

Exercise – No bootcamp or PT today so I did 30 day shred level 3 instead.


Today’s top tip – Always have healthy snacks in your house so that you eat them instead of thinking about the oven chips in your freezer.

Leave a Reply

