Day 50: Kirsty’s Healthy Ready Meals

I cannot believe I have made it to day 50. 50 down and a mere 20 to go! I feel like I am starting to see a light at the end of the tunnel with just 3 weeks to do.

All day today I have been asking my husband what he would like for tea, and every single response he gave was ‘pizza’. Unhelpful! So in the end I picked him up his favourite Pizza Express Sloppy Guisseppe and I got myself something equally as easy to cook. A few weeks ago I spotted a new range of ready meals in Sainsbury’s, called Kirsty’s. The main reason I spotted them was because the package design was quite nice and they stood out from all the others. Even better when I realised that the whole range is free from gluten, wheat and dairy.

The Paleo diet is all about fresh cooking, using fresh ingredients and avoiding anything processed. So ready meals are very much against that. But, as I have said from day one on this blog, I wanted to document a more realistic approach to dieting. Yes I bulk cook, yes I meal plan for the week and do a food shop but yes I am also going to take the odd shortcut here and there. If eating one of Kirsty’s ready meals, means I don’t join my husband in eating pizza, then I am ok with that. It is about making healthy choices.

Tonight I had the cottage pie from the range. It was topped with sweet potato and only took 20 minutes in the oven. When I transferred it to a bowl, it did look a little bit like slop, but it was actually really tasty and a bit of a nod to comfort food.

It was easy to cook, tasty, can be kept in the freezer for an emergency and pretty filling. I went on the website to see what other meals were available and whilst they aren’t all Paleo friendly, I am still keen to try the ones that are: Sausages & Sweet Potato Mash and Slow Cooked Beef with Celeriac Mash. The others, whilst not Paleo, are still pretty good, healthy options.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 20.46.26.png

So just because you are working late, have something on, need to get out early, doesn’t mean you need to have a pizza, or grab something unhealthy. Where possible stick to your healthy fresh food, but these are a damn good go to option for when you can’t!


Day 50: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 20.56.44.png

Brunch – Cooked breakfast

This might be by 2nd cooked breakfast in 3 days but it’s the long weekend and quite frankly I don’t give a damn. Today’s featured sausages, fried egg white and a bit of haggis, which I am aware I shouldn’t really have but it was that or I hit the leftover potatoes from last night, that Mum fried up and made delightfully crispy!

Dinner – Kirsty’s cottage pie with sweet potato mash

See above.

Drinks & snacks – Approx 2 litres water, Irn Bru sugar free

Exercise – 50 mins Insanity class


Today’s top tip – It is harder than you think to convince your instructor that Insanity should really be cancelled, on account of ‘I can’t be arsed’.

Leave a Reply

