Day 43:’We’ll put on lunch’

Week 7 is here! Lucky number 7…we’ll see! As I have only lost 1lb in the last 3 weeks I have decided to up my game and kick week 7’s ass. Incase you don’t recognise me by the end of the week, here is a self portrait…

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 21.29.38.png

Today I was at a all day training course. 9.30 until 5.30 around a small table with 13 other people. I got a confirmation email through last week that included a few words that old Bex gets VERY excited about ‘we’ll put on lunch’. Free food….bread….crisps….mini things made of carbs….did I mention free food? Fear not, I thought, I will just take along a salad. Sadly I was so busy yesterday that I didn’t have time to food shop, that and I forgot about today’s training. So I tentatively approached the lunch table in the hope there might be something I could eat, but as usual it was a table full of sandwiches…mmm! I ate a little bit of fruit and then excused myself to the shopping centre nearby and got a salad in M&S.

In the run up to my wedding last year, I was on my A game. I attended monthly meetings with clients and was always faced with the tempting little buggers that are the sandwich platters. Whilst you might feel a bit daft, it is not as embarrassing as you think, when you produce a salad from your handbag and eat it at the meeting. Just don’t bring anything smelly, and try to avoid raw red onion….trust me!

It is very easy to hide behind the ‘all they had was sandwiches, so I had to eat them’ bollocks. But in reality if you are going to eat a sandwich, eat a decent one. No one ever came away from a meeting lunch raving about the quality of the sandwiches. Just get prepared, eat before and after, or it’s going to a long meeting over lunch, bring a salad. People won’t think you are mental, they will probably respect your efforts!

45c8e20fd3e3fd6cf766b645e81cd58c

P.S. No matter how many carbs you cut out at lunch…you still get the post lunch sleepys, trust me!


Day 43: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 22.10.41

Breakfast – An apple

I was so busy yesterday I didn’t have time to do my food plan and shopping so unfortunately today’s breakfast went against everything I said about breakfast last week. But sometimes these things happen.

Lunch – M&S Salad

As mentioned above I got a salad from Marks & Spencer’s and had some fruit from the lunch that was put on for the training day.

Dinner – Brisket & sweet potato wedges

One of the many benefits to eating at my Mum’s at the weekend is she ALWAYS makes far too much. So tonight I had some of the leftover brisket from Saturday and just made some sweet potato wedges when I got in from Insanity.

Drinks & snacks – Approx 3 litres water, Bootea

Exercise – Insanity class and a rest day from the Lent challenge (only 3 more days until this hell of a challenge is over)


Today’s top tip – when your stomach starts rumbling awkwardly loud in a room full of strangers, down lots of water, it will keep it at bay for a wee while!

Leave a Reply

