Day 39: The Breakfast Club

Breakfast never used to be my bag. I was always happy to sacrifice it for longer in bed. I also have a theory that you won’t be hungry until you ‘activate the hunger’ and eating breakfast then just makes me want more food….just me? But, you know what they say ‘Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a pauper’. And actually it couldn’t be more true. Someone asked me recently how I get round the hunger and to be honest, with Paleo, I don’t really find that I get hungry. I barely ever snack, and the reason is that I eat 3 really good sized, filling meals.

Don’t worry, I still sleep as long as I can, I just take breakfast to work, problem solved. According to some clever person in the NHS ‘eating breakfast has long term health benefits. It can reduce obesity, high blood pressure, heart disease and diabetes.’ Pretty good going eh! Plus, if it’s good enough for Morgan…

 

I39m-morgan-freeman-And-i-have-Eggs-for-breakfast-meme-29273

So as well as all the health benefits, eating breakfast restores glucose levels, an essential carbohydrate that is needed for the brain to function. So it improves memory and concentration levels, probably pretty essential for a day at work I reckon. It also gives you energy. The energy you need to get through the day and go sweat your ass off after work. And that doesn’t mean you can just eat bacon rolls every day!

download.jpeg

So here are some of my favourite breakfast options:

Banana Nut Porridge
I know I bang on about this a lot. But actually this week I have managed to convert two people to Banana Nut Porridge. My cousin told me about this and sent me a picture and I won’t lie to you, it looked gross! But I’ll try anything once and actually after a few servings, I really like it now. It is SO easy and you can add different things. This week I added a handful of raspberries before heating it up and they went all mushy and sweet…yum. You can top with more nuts, I’ve tried pretty much most fruits, passion fruit is nice. My lovely cousin also suggested mixing through some chocolate protein powder. Try it!!

Juices
Another really easy option. I chop up the fruit on a Sunday night and stick it all in a tupperware. Then all your need to do in the morning is throw it in your juicer or NutriBullet, if you’re a wise guy, and off you go!

Eggs
Another easy option is eggs…in any form. Scrambled, omelette, poached. I tend to go scrambled at the weekend and make omelettes through the week as I can make it the night before and heat it up in the microwave at work.

Meat
Like the eggs, pretty much any for of meat. As you may have guessed by now, I like sausages! Sometimes I cook up a pack at the beginning of the week and they can be heated up through the week. Or even cook up some chicken breasts and have it with avocado.

Something that I read when I first started low carbing, is that you need to completely forget about breakfast as you know it. You need to think about it as a another lunch or dinner. So you’re not thinking about cereal or toast, but chicken or any kind of meat, with some veg or avocado. My husband does not agree with me eating burgers and chicken breasts for breakfast, mainly because he already thinks I am a fruit-loop and this just adds to that.

 

Try it, if you don’t eat breakfast, try eating it every day for a week. Or if you do and you have cereal or toast every morning, try something different. Try Banana Nut Porridge and don’t be put off by it’s slightly cement like appearance. Go forth my friends….and breakfast!


Day 39: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 22.11.45.png

Breakfast – Omelette

I made this earlier in the week and just had half for breakfast this morning. I had tomatoes, spring onion, sliced chorizo and 4 eggs. Pretty good way to start the day!

Lunch – Coronation chicken & bacon salad

Same as yesterday but I don’t care because it’s tasty! Bulk cooking really is my friend!

Dinner – Courgetti with chorizo and veg

After Pt I wanted something quick and this was very easy. Cooked some onions, peppers, chilli and garlic in coconut oil. Once soft I added some chorizo and then the chopped tomatoes. Once it was all mixed in I added the courgetti. Made enough for 2 meals and now my nose is running…easy on the chilli!

Drinks & snacks – Approx 3 litres water and an apple

Exercise – PT session which included today’s 65 burpees


Today’s top tip – When your cutting about in your new sports jacket and get too hot, fear not! Just roll up the sleeves, unzip and channel your inner Wham/Miami Vice

Leave a Reply

