Day 38: Packing in those zzz’s

As you may have gathered from numerous other blog posts, I am a woman who loves some serious zzz’s. This also may be evident from my incredible beauty! A.A. Milne really had his shit together with Winnie the Pooh, never was he more wise than when he suggested ‘Let’s begin by taking a smallish nap or two..’Everything should start with a nap!

il_570xN.578716855_pj5d

I need to have a good 7 hours sleep and absolutely must not be woken early by our upstairs neighbours’ small child screaming and stamping! When I was at University we had to be in the studio 9 – 5 but most days I managed to get home at lunch for a solid 30 minute nap…those were the good days! If only it was acceptable to nap at work. My husband doesn’t let me pick films to watch at night anymore, because guaranteed I’ll be asleep 20 minutes into it.

It turns out though that actually weight loss can be helped by sleep and sleep can be helped by healthy eating, they go together like a couple of snoozing otters.

sea-otters-holding-hands-big.jpg

Being unhealthy, eating junk food, drinking caffeine filled drinks and lazing about can lead to napping and unhealthy sleep patterns. Keeping you up later and making you feel lethargic through the day. I also read a fact that going without sleep makes you hungry and then therefore you eat more.When I am really tired I don’t want to exercise, mainly I just want to nap and eat Monster Munch. A study, that someone somewhere did, showed that when people were starved of sleep, late-night snacking increased, and they were more likely to choose high-carb snacks….pass me the Pringles!

By getting a good 7 hours sleep you have more energy for the day ahead and hopefully get you exercising more. Apparently regular exercise usually improves your sleep pattern whereas exercising randomly, irregularly and before bed will keep you up at night. You should make better food choices and not feel like napping (I find this hard to comprehend).

57977869.jpg

You can get loads of apps that track your sleep. I do it through my Jawbone Up wristband, which is good because it encourages me to set sleep targets.  And gives me fun facts about sleep! It’s a good way of seeing how much light and sound sleep you get, as well as how long it takes you to fall asleep. I am terrible for watching things on my iPad in bed. This is not recommended. You should avoid too much stimulation and light before bed.

I think if spending a bit longer in bed is going to help get me nice and healthy…get the heated blanket on and sign me right up!


Day 38: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 21.56.44.png

Breakfast – Banana Nut Porridge and raspberries

This guy again. Although today I added a good handful of raspberries before heating it up and it was really good, they broke up and added a nice bit of sweetness to the porridge. Recommended!

Lunch – Coronation chicken & bacon salad

Made up a batch of coronation chicken on Monday night so I got two salads out of it for this week. So tasty!

Dinner – Sausage bake with sweet potato wedges

Sleepover night at shred buddy’s tonight and she cooked up a delicious meal. Sausages cooked with broccoli, onions, peppers and chopped tomatoes, then baked in the oven. We had it with sweet potato chips and I went back for seconds!

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 3 litres water, Irn Bru sugar free

Exercise – 50 minute Insanity class which covered off my 60 burpees for the Lent challenge


Today’s top tip – Never agree to a Lent challenge involving burpees…NEVER!

Leave a Reply

