Day 37: Piyo

Tuesday is one of those things that I’d like to put in Room 101, along with the fact that Ryan Reynolds never got the chance to meet me before Blake Lively, the fact that my day 2 fringe always lets me down and potatoes, so that I can stop lusting after them.

tuesday

Monday, whilst feeling slightly gutted, is still ok, it’s only day 1 and you reminisce about the weekend with your work colleagues! Wednesday is hump day and bring a reassurance that you are half way there. Thursday you can start to see a light at the end of the tunnel and it’s practically the weekend then Friday is full on end of term, giddy feelings. And then I don’t even need to share my thoughts on Saturday and Sunday, because we all know they are the Ant and Dec of the week. Reliable, fun and after a few drinks they just merge into one. But Tuesday, no one ever needed Tuesday in their lives. Get rid of it I say!

The only good thing about Tuesday’s is Piyo. I was a little bit skeptical when this got introduced at Beachfit Bootcamp and wouldn’t say I was even convinced after a couple of classes. Insanity is absolute mayhem, you come out dripping with sweat, sore and barely able to walk but you feel weirdly good for it. So the idea of something that is just a bit ‘stretchy’ didn’t really appeal. I was so wrong! The first couple of classes I wasn’t coming out sore or sweaty but it was new and we took it quite slow to get to grips with it. After a couple of classes we got the hang of the format and the moves, and then all of a sudden we found out the speed it was supposed to go at…fast! You’ll be sweaty and knackered but almost surprised by it.

piyo-1

Piyo comes from the Pi of pilates and the Yo of yoga, but there certainly isn’t time for any ‘omming’! It is faster than traditional Pilates and Yoga and by cranking it up it helps you burn fat, get leaner, stronger and more flexible. I actually find that the results of the strength parts and the flexibility, really help me in Insanity too, so they go really well together. And the good thing about it being the day after Insanity is that it helps to ease out all the aches and pains from the day before.

It really is hard to describe, some people have called it fast yoga, but it’s not really as it is a bit more intense. You really just need to give it a go. We’ve been doing it for a while now and I have noticed a big difference. My aim was to get my heels down in the downward dog and whilst lefty is playing along, righty needs a bit more work. Even tonight we did an ab round from when Piyo first kicked off. A round that I struggled to do any of and then tonight as I kept going through it, I realised how far I have come. So I know I keep harping on about it but give it a try, make this the week you try something new. It is on at the Calton Centre on Montgomery Street on a Tuesday at 6pm. Or at Fitness Soul on Tennant Street on a Saturday at 9am.

Plus you can go out and buy yourself a jazzy mat so you feel like you’re serious about it!


Day 37: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 21.02.35.png

Breakfast – Banana Nut Porridge

Another helping of my go to Banana Nut porridge this morning, topped with raspberries.

Lunch – Thai Soup

I got this out of the freezer last night. I try to avoid soup on Insanity or PT days as I don’t find it filling enough. But as Piyo isn’t quite as ‘I think I’m going to pass out and/or vom’ I can have a slightly lighter lunch.

Dinner – Burger & sweet potato fries

So I guess I have pretty much had this once a week since the shred began. But I don’t care, because I love it!

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 3 litres water

Exercise – Piyo and 3 x 1 min planks


Today’s top tip – Today’s top tip comes from a friend who tried out Banana Nut Porridge for the first time. If adding grapes before heating this up, cut them in half to avoid a molten lava situation….or add then after heating!

Leave a Reply

