Day 36: Motivational Monday

To give you an idea of how I felt this morning…

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 14.42.18.png

But, up I got, got showered and got ready for week 6! With this now being my 36th blog post, it’s not quite as easy to decide what to write about. So I was VERY grateful to get a request from a friend. How to keep motivated when your enthusiasm starts to dwindle. I know this feeling all too well. You get started on a fitness regime or diet and hit it all guns blazing, but it is inevitable that the momentum will dip at some point, it’s just how you deal with it.

Today I made two separate trips to Sainsbury’s to visit the Monster Munch, both times I reminded myself how hard I worked and that I didn’t sweat like a total pig in insanity for nothing! Until next time you tasty little buggers! So here are a few of my thoughts about how to keep motivated:

  1. Remember how good you have been feeling, fitter, thinner and just all round healthier.
  2. When confronted with biscuits and crisps, before you dive in head first, think about whether it is really worth it?
  3. Think about how hard you have worked and don’t put it to waste. You started this for a reason, don’t give up on it.
  4. Write down your goals, whether that’s wearing size 12 jeans, or throwing out your baggy clothes, or just feeling confident in your own skin. Write them down and look at them whenever you feel like your swaying.
  5. Set yourself a new goal, aim to not eat chocolate for a week, or sign up for a run, do something!
  6. Get a buddy. Every Monday my sister and I text each other to try and talk the other out of Insanity, but usually we convince each other that it’s for our own good. Find someone that will question your excuses.
  7. Try a fitness class. I struggled to motivate myself to go to the gym but actively cancelling a class you’ve booked in for, will give you the guilts!
  8. I am very much a visual person. Have a picture in your mind of a time when you felt amazing, and work towards that (or even a picture that reminds you of what you don’t want to be, I have many of them!).

These are my motivational images. One from my honeymoon when I felt great and the other is from my engagement party in 2013.

Be realistic, we are not training for the Olympics or looking for a supermodel figure, so if spending one night on the sofa is what you need, do it. But make sure you are front and centre of the class the following day. If having a burger and chips is going to satisfy you for another few weeks, then have one. Just don’t eat the whole menu and then go home and eat more. Sadly I am an all or nothing kind of gal. If I satisfy a craving and have chips, or crisps or any form of potato, I can most likely be found in a carb comma 3 days later!

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 15.13.30.pngNo one else can do it for you. So get up, put the biscuits down, quit wearing stretchy clothes and make yourself awesome!


Day 36: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 21.37.23

Breakfast – Sausages and an orange

I couldn’t be bothered to food shop yesterday which means I did it on my way home from work tonight. So for breakfast I heated up some cocktail sausages (I don’t recommend eating these really as they don’t have a massive meat content, but better than starving). And I had some of the free fruit from work.

Lunch – Chilli beef & avocado

Again as I had no food shopping in I just took something out the freezer for lunch. I topped it with a whole avocado which is maybe a bit decadent but it needed to be used up.

Dinner – Courgetti carbonara

One of my favourite comfort food dinners is my little sister’s amazing carbonara. Tonight I recreated it Paleo styley (well almost, I had a bit of cheese). I chopped and fried up some bacon until it was really crispy and set aside. Then sauteed some onion and garlic and then added courgetti and a dash of white wine. In a cup I whisked up 2 eggs, a teaspoon of parmesan, salt, pepper and a bit of parsley. I added the bacon into the courgetti and then the egg mix and cooked for a couple of minutes. This was AMAZING!

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 3 litres water

Exercise – 50 minute Insanity class which covered off my 50 burpees for the Lent challenge


Today’s top tip – Stop taking the lift! My office is on the 3rd floor and it so tempting to turn to the lift in the morning but getting fitter can start with small steps….literally!

Leave a Reply

