Day 35: Half way shredded

Day 35 and the end of week 5 can mean only one thing….I’m half way there! In the words of Miley ‘Ain’t about how fast I get there, Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side, It’s the climb’. And what a bloody climb it has been so far!

1-_vRoessOeRI-8u7dZcZ-Zg

The first half of my 70 day shred has actually gone fairly well! I feel like I’ve already achieved more, in 5 weeks, than I thought I would in the whole shred! I’ve lost 12lbs, 10.5cm in total, I’ve followed every rule to a T and only used up 2 of my 5 treats so far! Yesterday after Piyo I took another set of photos, front, side and back. And whilst I can feel a big difference in my clothes I couldn’t see a massive difference in the photos. I am already feeling fitter, a bit shaplier and so much healthier. BUT I would say the last week has been very hard. I was totally soaring in terms of motivation but the last couple of nights I have been desperate for a chippy. But I have started get lots of lovely compliments which helps to keep me going! I even received a lovely message on FB from a near stranger to tell me that they thought my blog was ‘BRILLIANT’ which has given me another push to keep going.

635899506076349730-75522934_wEjCK4KV0wCxlsZPffy88rhww9XqXN6R4Eufb693IvVoH7qh1-kwHgTJToI47g1oW-KSx3kCnEMalhQsbOLK2s0hD48TTGzrt3wKBd70wvsqGvZ4GcIY6qSMoYVBOav57Pym3qxP

Something that I know very well as a Dundee United fan is that old saying ‘it’s a game of two halves’. Mainly because right now it’s hard enough watching 45 minutes of United play. But I am under no illusions that the next 5 weeks are going to be easy. 10 weeks is a long time, and I’m not really sure what I was thinking when I settled on 10 weeks, why not 4, or 5, or 6?!?!?! But the way I see it, there’s not point setting yourself a challenge that isn’t going to push you….so stop talking about doing something, and just do it! If I can do this, anyone can and the results of my first 5 weeks, shows what you can achieve in just a short time.

So how am I going to keep myself motivated….more targets and more challenges. This evening I signed myself up for a 10k on the Forth Road Bridge. I am not a runner. The extent of my running is a quick warm up in PT, or to the bus stop because I was lazy and stayed in bed too long. So this will be a good challenge to keep me fit, until at least August! I am desperate to hit a stone shredded! So I am going to aim for that by the end of week 6, so that means working hard this week. I have found setting short, realistic targets has worked well so far. So whilst it has been a long 5 weeks, and the next 5 will be no different, I feel confident I can make it!

P.S. sadly it’s not always a good thing to lose weight…

ebaefc227cfccf5ec6caf6d1b91dd10f.jpg


Day 35: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-03-13 at 22.18.53.png

Brunch – Chorizo and chilli omelette

After a mammoth ironing sesh this morning I made myself a quick omelette for brunch with whatever I could find in the fridge. Some questionably off spring onions, tomatoes and some sliced chorizo. I only had 2 eggs left but included some chilli flakes for a bit of a kick. This was a really tasty meal and stopped me from hitting the crisps, popcorn and brownies that I put out for my guests before the rugby.

Dinner – Sunday Roast

James cooked up an absolute feast this evening. A roast chicken with roast veg (carrots, parsnips and sweet potato) and a wee bit of gravy. It was absolutely amazing and tasted all the better for having it cooked for me!

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 2 litres water and a Irn bru sugar free (need to cut back on this again)

Exercise – No classes today, just 15 tricep push ups for the Lent challenge


Today’s top tip – Force your guests to finish all crisps, chocolate, popcorn etc before they leave so that you aren’t left alone with the leftovers!

Leave a Reply

