Day 28: Keeping it real

One of the reasons I started this blog was to keep me accountable and to show how normal people lose weight. Forget your faddy celebrity diets and all your TOWIE/Geordie Shore Z lists who accidentally got fat and stumbled upon a DVD deal that made them thin. This is about ‘keeping it real’.

So when I sat down to a three course meal in a hotel last night I found myself in turmoil. Do I stick to the diet or give myself a treat, how often are you away for the weekend? So I compromised. I had soup to start and just had a small bread roll with it (which after 4 weeks of not eating bread, tasted amazing), for my main I had diet friendly chicken and just avoided the lovely potatoes that came with it. Then allowed myself a pudding. As I mentioned yesterday Sticky Toffee pudding is my weakness and there it was on the menu, it would have been rude not to.

Incredibly just that small bread roll and Sticky Toffee pudding gave me horrible stomach pains. It just shows you how hard your stomach works to digest those tasty carbs! So whilst they tasted amazing I can happily say I can hold off on another treat for a while. Especially as I used up 2 in 1 night! 6 weeks to go and 3 treats left. You know what they say ‘a moment on the lips, a lifetime on the hips’.

dqqzbpb2p3v611oz7wrx3theo.646x646x1I leant Jenny my velour short tracksuit, I’m good like that! 

In the words of Jennifer Lopez and Mr Ja Rule in their catchy tune ‘I’m Real’, it’s ‘My life I live it to the limit and I love it’. Keep it real chaps and don’t worry about eating a bit of emergency sticky toffee. We’re all human!


Day 28: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 19.14.40.png

Breakfast – Cooked breakfast

After staying at a hotel last night we had breakfast included in the stay. I opted for the full cooked breakfast without black pudding and beans. It came with a sly potato scone on the plate which I removed immediately before temptation set in. I then followed this up with an apple.

Lunch – Tomato and lentil soup followed by roast chicken and veg

Mother’s day calls for a late lunch out at the local golf club. None of the starters were totally diet friendly so I opted for tomato and lentil soup as it is still the healthy choice even though lentils aren’t strictly paleo. Then I had roast chicken with veg, it was supposed to come with chips but I asked them to just add more veg instead.

Dinner – Dust

As we only ate lunch at 4.30pm I didn’t need any dinner as I was still stuffed!

Drinks & snacks – About 2 litres water and a Irn Bru sugar free

Exercise – Sadly the Lent challenge rest days are over and today was 65 burpees, yuck!


Today’s top tip – When hitting up a hotel breakfast buffet try to avoid the giant jugs of sugary fruit juice, funnily enough they are not good for you.

Leave a Reply

