Day 20: Sausages!!!

Something that you may have noticed is that I eat a lot of sausages. So much so that my old work nicknamed me ‘Sausage bin’…until we realised how inappropriate that was! Another nickname I managed to get was ‘beast’ which also came from a sausage related incident when someone binned my cocktail sausages that were a day out of date…you don’t mess with The Beast.

sausage-scarf_o_2935435.jpg

So you can imagine my excitement when my sisters bought me the Kitchen Aid mincer and sausage stuffer for Christmas, complete with some really creepy sausage skin. I have been dying to try this out and today was the day! I went to Costco and bought a nice big bit of pork shoulder to use because if you’re going to make your own sausages you can’t be scrimping on the meat.

First thing to do was soak the creepy sausage skin in water. It came vacuum packed and covered in salt so it needed to be thoroughly cleaned and rinsed.

IMG_1366

Next up, mincing! I used the mincer part of the attachment which in itself was pretty exciting. I will definitely be using this to mince chicken for burgers and making burger mix, my mincing world has been blown wide open. I cut the pork up into chunks and fed it through using the very exciting meat plunger! Once it was all minced up I added some garlic, sage, chilli powder, crushed chillis, seasoning and 60ml of water.

IMG_1356.jpg

Next up I fed the creepy skin over the sausage tube…get your minds out of the gutter, and started to push the meat through. I watched a few YouTube videos on how to link the sausages which I think I managed like a pro if I do say so myself. There was just one wee scrappy looking sausage on the end who I cut off and cooked as a wee tester. I would say they were a complete success…other than the fact the were a bit dry. Tasted amazing but I think with the high meat content I needed to maybe add some pureed onion or something. Not too shabby for a first attempt though I reckon!


Day 20: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 21.28.07

Breakfast –Green juice (cucumber, kale, pineapple, lime juice, nectarine and chia seeds)

All the fruit was chopped on Thursday night so I made a quick post Piyo juice to keep me going until lunch time. Along with a Bootea to warm me up after doing Piyo in what felt like an igloo.

Lunch – Leftover paleo pizza

I didn’t manage to eat all of that pizza I made last night so I reheated it and had the rest for my lunch today.

Dinner – Carb free fajitas

I was at my Mum’s for dinner tonight and she made fajitas which were amazing. I just didn’t have the wraps that everyone else had. But had the chicken, homemade salsa and guacamole and a bit of cheese…winner winner chicken dinner!

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 3 litres water, Irn Bru sugar free

Exercise – Piyo class plus 15 burpees for the lent challenge


Today’s top tip – When selecting a shred buddy pick someone you know you can beat, then you’ll feel smug when you stumble upon them eating a fried egg sandwich.

Leave a Reply

