Day 17: Carb replacements

If you had suggested to Bex circa 2 years ago that actually celeriac makes nice chips, or courgettes can be tasty as a spaghetti alternative, I’d have laughed and slapped you in the chops with a ketchup covered chip. Actually who am I kidding, I’m not wasting my chips on your face. When you decide to start cutting out carbs it is amazing the alternatives that you can find out there.

And what’s even better is Supermarkets are starting to catch on too. In the last 6 months it seems like they have all realised there is a market out there for carb alternatives and boy am I glad. It always surprised me that there were so few options in supermarkets in terms of nice quick food for people who low carb. It is a diet that has grown in popularity and actually feels like the way we should all be eating as it basically relies on eating the way cavemen did. If it worked for them, why shouldn’t it work for us. It is about eating fresh food, nothing processed or full of sugar. Just good clean food.

Here are a few ideas of things that I use regularly as alternatives:

  • Marks & Spencers sweet potato tagliatteli
  • Marks & Spencers/Sainsbury’s/Tesco butternut squash noodles
  • Marks & Spencers/Sainsbury’s/Tesco courgetti
  • Tesco cauliflower couscous
  • Tesco rainbow vegetable couscous
  • Chip alternatives – sweet potato, celeriac, parsnip
  • Mash alternative – brocolli, cauliflower, butternut squash, sweet potato (all good options for topping a shepherd’s pie

Look, don’t get me wrong. These are HEALTHY alternatives. Celeriac chips DO NOT taste like chips made from the trusty potato, believe me, but they are a good alternative. Don’t worry, I haven’t been brainwashed….just give it a try!


Day 17: Shred Log

Day 17

Breakfast – Banana Nut Porridge

Again I made 2 portions of this on Monday so it was a nice easy grab from the fridge this morning and heated it up in the microwave at work.

Lunch – Leftover roast chicken & green veg

More leftovers of that lovely Sunday roast I got hand delivered. This time I had it with guacamole instead of gravy…living on the wild side eh!

Dinner – Beef meatballs and sweet potato tagliatelle

I cooked up some Muscle Food beef meatballs with a red onion, green pepper, chilli, garlic, chopped tomatoes and some dried basil. Once it was bubbling a bit I shoved it all in a pot with the sweet potato tagliatelle and it was amazing. Although I couldn’t eat it all….what have I become.

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 3 litres water

Exercise – 50 minute Insanity class which covered off my 50 burpees for the Lent challenge


Today’s top tip – Eat from a small bowl with a small fork, you will get fuller quicker…plus it’s fun to pretend you’re a giant.

Leave a Reply

