Day 16: My Shred buddy

Something that has been missing from my shred so far, and my circle of awesome, is my trusty shred buddy! But she’s back! Back from her week of skiing and devouring delicious carby meals. She was under strict instructions not to send me pictures of any of it!

My sister and I often diet together so that we can keep each other going. Usually when one of us can’t be bothered to go to Insanity, at least the other one is there to whip the other into shape. She’s my right hand woman when it comes to weigh loss. She’s my Debbie McGee, I’m Paul Daniel’s obviously, on account of the fact I’m bloody magic!

8330fc4c8b6a2aa12c48f131f29f4236Here we are sharing a lovely Paleo friendly sausage!

So as of yesterday I have encouraged her to join my shred. She will do 8 weeks, so that we can finish up together, just in time for our birthdays (it is the same day randomly!). Whilst 56 is not the nice round number that 70 is, it is still plenty of time to make a big difference. I have sent her the rules, which was actually a good reminder for me (surely must be treat time soon!):

  1. Weigh myself once a week (I know this shouldn’t be important but I find it keeps me motivated)
  2. Do my measurements every 2 weeks (Because there will be weeks when I don’t shed pounds but I might drop a centimetre or so)
  3. Take photos of myself at weeks 1, 5 and 10 (I am all about the visuals)
  4. I will only allow alcohol one night a week (I did consider cutting it out altogether but again, I am normal, I like wine and margaritas, and I need this to be realistic)
  5.  Only 5 treats during the 10 weeks (Again I considered none, but we have to have some rewards, it is just about making sure they don’t spiral)
  6. I MUST exercise at least 3 times a week (This shouldn’t be too hard as I do attend regular classes)

As Jen will be doing 8 weeks and not 10, she is going to reduce the treats to 4 and the photos will happen at week 1, 4 and 8. After pretty much forcing her, she has taken her starter pictures and measurements and is good to go! I even came round tonight to find this mammoth stock:

image1The hand is for scale, to show how ridiculously huge the pineapple is and how she clearly thought she was buying kale for her whole flat block!

What we like to do is send each other pictures of our meals each day, so that we chase each other when we haven’t had one. This is usually when Jen can be found eating garlic bread. Garlic bread is to Jen, is what chips are to me….a match made in heaven. We’ve even set ourselves competitions in the past, such as whoever loses the most gets their car cleaned by the other. I have never worked so hard in my life. We are ridiculously competitive which usually makes for good motivation. We can’t even stand next to each other in Insanity, because without even knowing it we will kill ourselves in an impromptu burpee off, it’s ridiculous.

I know what your thinking, it’s Benjamin Franklin and his five head again…nope, just me!

The problem with being shred buddies is we can also be each other’s worst enemies. ‘Shall we just go to McDonald’s, no one will ever know?’….no! Hopefully in these situations, one of us has the sense to say no….hopefully! Whilst she is not keen on me mentioning her participation on the blog, I have ignored her! Accountability Jen…suck it up and put on your big girl pants….it’s on!


Day 16: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 20.47.57

Breakfast – 3 x sausages and homemade guacamole

This was actually such a tasty breakfast! I cooked up the last of the sausages last night for breakfast today and two spare….because you never know when you are going to need to snack on a sausage! Reheated them in the microwave at work this morning and ate with homemade guacamole.

Lunch – 3 egg omelette

Made this last night and again reheated in the microwave for lunch at work. Made this with tomatoes, onions, peppers, chilli and the last of the bacon from the butchers and used 3 eggs. It was ridiculously filling, I probably could have had half of it.

Dinner – Byron burger

Ok so I know this is my 3rd burger meal in a week, which might be slightly decadent, but I just love them! Will try have a break after this one. Byron burger has just opened recently in Edinburgh and they deliver via Deliveroo. Sadly Deliveroo doesn’t work out where I live but as I am staying at my sister’s tonight we decided to treat ourselves. I had a burger with bacon, bunless obvs, and sweet potato fries. I did get cheese on it. Some paleo dieters still eat cheese. I used to but I have massively cut down since starting the shred. I think this is only the 2nd time I have had it. It was AMAZING!

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 3 litres water, Irn Bru sugar free

Exercise – Piyo class tonight and a rest day from the Lent challenge which means no burpees…yippee!


Today’s top tip – Take up a new hobby to distract from thoughts of food. Tonight’s sleepover includes a knitting 101 with my sister.

 

Leave a Reply

