Day 10: Eating out

I love eating out! I like going to new restaurants, meeting up with friends, going on date night…I’ll do anything to avoid washing dishes! I even have a list of Edinburgh restaurants in my phone, that some friends and I are working our way through. You know your life goals are weak when you get excited about crossing off another restaurant visit.

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 23.41.01.png

What I love about Paleo is that it doesn’t stop me eating out. Yes I have to think a bit more about where I am going, sadly Italian is always out of the question (on account of all the deliciously, but I can still go out. Basically anywhere with meat and veg is an option. Go for the burger without the bun, and a salad or sweet potato fries, a curry with spinach instead of rice, a steak with green veg instead of chips, fajitas with a salad instead of wraps…you get the point. The only downside is that you can’t have pudding, but I don’t have that much of a sweet tooth, so that doesn’t bother me.

Tonight I went out for dinner with friends and we chose an Indian street food restaurant called Tuk Tuk. I made healthy choices and picked dishes that would have little dairy in them. I avoided the rice and the naan bread, partly because this had been scoffed by the time I arrived, and anything with potato or lentils etc. I ordered 3 small dishes and was still very full at the end, even without the carbs. So my point here, diets don’t have to be restricting. They don’t have to have you chained to your dining room chair, just be sensible and don’t Man v Food the shit out of a menu.

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 23.39.17.png


Day 10: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 23.48.49.png

Breakfast – Bootea & Banana Nut Porridge

Returning home late last night and getting to work late this morning, I was glad I prepared and took all of today’s food to work with me yesterday, no thinking involved.

Lunch – Roasted Tomato Soup (not a surprise this time)

I wanted something light for lunch today as I knew I was out for dinner and  would probably be eating quite a lot. Taken from the freezer, this was nice and easy and pretty tasty if I do say so myself. I just roasted some tomatoes, onions and peppers with garlic and chillis. Once roasted I added to a pot with some stock and froze it into portions.

Dinner – Indian food at Tuk Tuk

I absolutely love this place. It is an Indian street food restaurant but also BYOB. Indian food is always a good choice for me when I am eating out as most of the curries are pretty Paleo friendly. I just have to avoid the naan bread and rice and have a salad/spinach dish instead. I avoided the alcohol and just had water to drink and for food I had ginger garlic chicken, bombay chilli chicken and chicken korma as it was cooked with coconut milk rather than cream. And then a wee side salad.

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 3 litres water

Exercise – Insanity wasn’t on tonight so just 25 lovely burpees!


Today’s top tip – Sleeping through your alarm means even less time awake and thinking about food!

Leave a Reply

