Day 9: On the go

Paleo for me is all about the 3 Ps, plan, plan and plan! There is no reason why I need to stray when I am out and about or have plans, you just need to think ahead. I went straight from work tonight, to get on the bus to Dundee for the football, I know what you’re thinking…lad! Football and pies go hand in hand and there is nothing better than a good old Dundee peh! Especially on a cold night when actually the pie is probably better than the football. We got beat, will probably get relegated and to make matters worse I smashed my phone screen. Bad times!

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 08.50.19.pngCome on United!!!

Whilst I am aware of the mocking that ensues when bringing a homemade salad on a football supporter bus, needs must! I had my salad and I wasn’t going to waste it. I even managed to part with cash to let my husband buy a half time pie…I don’t even recognise myself. Although when he asked if I wanted anything my response through gritted teeth was ‘I want ALL of the pies but I can’t bloody have them’. And I am glad I didn’t.

So it really isn’t hard, you just need to be prepared. Remember old five head Benji, ‘failing to plan is planning to fail.’ Make adjustments if necessary, I ended up swapping my lunch and dinner so that I could heat up lunch while at work and have the salad on the go. So while my evening has been pretty dismal…at least I didn’t make any bad food choices, just bad football ones.


Day 9: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 00.16.44.png

Breakfast – Bootea & Banana Nut Porridge

I’m never particularly adventurous with breakfast so you will see a lot of repeats, and this is a nice easy one to repeat! It’s so easy to make, I just soaked 1/2 cup of almonds, 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/2 cup pecans in water overnight with a bit of salt. I used to HATE american recipes for using cup measurements….until I just bought some measuring cups. Drain and rinse the nuts in the morning. Then I blended in my nutribullet with a tin of coconut milk and a ripe banana. Done! Took it to work and blasted in the micro for a minute or so. Oh and I topped it with passionfruit.

Lunch – Chilli beef

I took this out of my freezer last night and added some avocado on top once heated.

Dinner – Coronation chicken salad with crispy bacon

I am never going to be someone that loves a salad. I love burgers. Anyone who tells you they love a salad and would chose this over other things, is a liar and you must get as far away from them as you can! However, I have to say, this salad is delicious. It was my sister that made it for me once and now it is a regular on my lunch menus. Just a basic salad topped with some chicken that I diced and cooked in the oven with some seasoning. I think mixed it with mayo and curry powder and voila…coronation chicken! I dry fried some chopped up bacon to add on top.

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 3 litres water

Exercise – I had to miss Piyo for the football today but still managed the lent challenge which today was 30s plank x 3 reps


Today’s top tip – Don’t ever take your iPhone out your pocket!

Leave a Reply

