Day 8: Slow and steady wins the race

Week 2 is off and amazingly I am still feeling quite motivated…so far! I am 100% someone that needs a carrot, nay a bag of chips dangled in front of me to keep me going…like a donkey! When I used to do Weight Watchers I would treat myself every week. After weigh in night on a Wednesday I would have whatever I wanted for tea and and not point it. Whilst I still lost weight, I don’t think it kept me particularly driven and definitely stumped how much weight I was losing. I found this online and I think it perfectly sums me up:d870383f5787a69532083372f8a6c175.jpg

Again this goes back to the fancy mumbo jumbo about how you shouldn’t associate pain and pleasure with the same thing. By rewarding myself with food every Wednesday I was suggesting that everything else I ate through the week was horrible. It wasn’t.

I’m also terrible with a long deadline. I guess it’s a bit like when I was at school and I needed the fear of a looming essay deadline to make me do it, screw being organised and doing it weeks in advance. Long weight loss goals just mean you have no urgency about things. I would decide it was ok to cheat because I have plenty of time to rectify it before whatever deadline I had set.

Slow and steady wins the race. Regular goals are an absolute must for me. Whilst 10 weeks is the long deadline for me, I have decided to set a few shorter goals to keep me motivated. For example, I’ve decided that if I can lose 10lbs by the end of February I am going to buy myself something jazzy from Sweaty Betty. I’m not really sure what’s happened to me to be honest but gym clothes excite me now….help!  It’s not a food reward but something that actually I can use while staying fit and healthy…just typing that made me cringe, what a knob!

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 23.42.06.png

Anyway you get the point, set short achievable goals and DO NOT reward yourself with food, and if you do, make sure someone makes you sit and rollover before tucking in!


Day 8: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 23.51.24.png

Breakfast – Smoothie (Cucumber, pineapple, mango, strawberries and raspberries)

I try not to eat too much fruit on account of all the sugar, so usually I would have a green juice for breakfast. However, as I was staying with my Mum last night I had to use what was on hand to avoid going out for a bacon roll!

Lunch – Leftover omelette

Again, as I needed to prep some lunch whilst at my Mum’s yesterday, I went for a 3 egg omelette (no cream or milk). And used leftover sausages from Friday night, spring onions and red pepper. Nice and easy one for lunch that I just blasted in the microwave at work. Normally I would include a layer of cheese on an omelette….but I resisted and it was really tasty!

Dinner – Leftover Sunday roast

Bit of a theme with all of today’s meals….leftovers. I don’t like to waste any food, everything can be reused/changed up for another meal. I just reheated all of this from yesterday but cooked up some fresh broccoli.

Drinks & snacks – Bootea, approx 3 litres water, 

Exercise – 50 minute Insanity class (which included todays 20 burpees)


Today’s top tip – Keeping your heating off not only saves money, all that shivering is sure to burn a few calories!

Leave a Reply

