Day 6: Weekend Woes

Weekends are my nemesis when it comes to the diet. Weekends are to me as hog roasts are to David Cameron…they get me into trouble. Through the week I find myself in a routine and I almost don’t have time to think about straying. Whereas the weekend usually brings wine with it and that makes me want ALL the food. This was part of the reason I decided to only allow 1 day a week where I can drink alcohol, because as soon as I have a couple of drinks, I WILL most definitely want potato in any of it’s magical forms.

This always leads to…..this!

I have previously gotten into a bad cycle of being really strict through the week and then letting lose at the weekend. Which meant I could lose 1 or 2lbs through the week and then put that back on over the weekend. So whilst I wasn’t gaining weight, I was never getting anywhere in terms of my goals. This is how I would like to be eventually. Once at my goal weight I would happily work that way, but for now that won’t do! It’s amazing how much damage you can do in 2 days. What I forget alot of the time is I can still eat ‘weekend treat’ type food. Bunless burgers, steak, sweet potato fries, even a fry up (sausages, bacon, mushrooms, grilled tomato, eggs)…you really can’t complain.

This blog has really helped me. Even when I have dieted in the past I have never been this strict. But all week it’s been at the back of my mind, “I can’t let people down’. I was telling my cousins today, I almost ate a bag of crisps Friday night and then I thought ‘if I eat these I’ll have to put it on my blog, back away Bex’! I just need to change my thinking when it comes to the sort of foods I see as treats. It doesn’t need to be deep fried, battered, breaded or covered in cheese to be good! My dinner tonight was delicious and whilst cavemen might not have had it quite as refined, they could have sunk their teeth into all of it! That should be their new slogan, ‘M&S Two Dine for £20…it’s not just any food, it’s caveman food’.

So the way I see it, it’s 2 days out of 7, sort your shit out, grow a pair and stop making Ryan sad!555ec138b6f885d5db06374bfb3e124b.jpg


 

Day 6: Shred Log

Screen Shot 2016-02-13 at 21.52.16.png

Breakfast – Bootea and a Smoothie (Cucumber, mango, pineapple, strawberry & raspberry)

I was pretty pooped after Piyo, so a nice easy smoothie was enough to keep me going. Plus a Bootea to warm me up after being out in the snow.

Lunch – Sausages 

I was in hurry to get ready for my cousin’s wee girl’s 2nd Birthday so I ate a quick leftover sausage from last night. They had put on the most amazing spread of party food but somehow I managed to resist and sufficed with a couple of cocktail sausages.

Dinner – M&S Two dine for £20

Quiet night in with the husband tonight and so we went for the easy option, M&S food! We got Satay chicken skewers to start, turkey paupiettes with butternut squash and roast veg for the main and then I got an apple tarte tatin for James for pudding. They had some amazing looking puddings so I went for one that I wouldn’t be over fussed to not eat. The deal also came with chocolates, which James can eat, and a bottle of cava.

Drinks & snacks – Approx 2 litres of water, prosecco & wine

Exercise – Piyo class + 16 burpees


Today’s top tip – Wherever possible, start you weekend off with some exercise…it’ll guilt you into being good!

Leave a Reply

